GLIBC Problem in my Hardy

Friend just i want to share my one pronblem that causes reinstalling hardy once again

Once i have installed hardy freshly in my system and also i want to install some of the packages which are installed by my friend who installed ubuntu intrepid

and also he installed some required packages that what i want. i had a method to install the needed packages which he installed

i copied the ubuntu cache folder of his’ intrepid

then i pasted it in my desktop

after that i clicked my terminal suddenly i entered into the particular cache directory via terminal

then i typed the command which is shown below

sudo dpkg -i *.deb

in my terminal the packages have been startd to installing after installed some of the packages like vlc had not worked for say it not opened when i try to open the vlc

few of packages opened like LVPM,etc

after i ve been restarted my system it shows the error which is given below

“”/bin/login:/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6:version ‘GLIBC_2.8’ not found

/bin/login:/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6:version ‘GLIBC_2.8’ not found (required by/lib/libpam_misc.so.o) “”

then i couldn’t enter into login screen..here i was shocked      <——-

these errors shown there

yet i not get solution for these problems

My system configuration

Amd sempron 2800+ processor,Micro star international co.Ltd motherboard,i have more than 1 gb ram

my friend has intel processor board

Halo visitng friends if you have known any iformation regarding this just post it to me

About Navaneethan

mixed feelings...
This entry was posted in Free Software, Prob_system, Ubuntu and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GLIBC Problem in my Hardy

  1. mwillypermana says:

    There’s nothing wrong with your hardware. It’s merely that Hardy can’t find some libraries it needed because you replace them with newer version of libraries which is intended for Intrepid.

  2. Navaneethan says:

    Ok…. could it solve by replacing GLIBC_2.8 of intrepid rather than hardy

  3. mwillypermana says:

    It’s other way around; replace glibc with the version intended for Hardy.

    But then I suspected that glibc isn’t the only library affected. Don’t really know, as I am a newbie myself….

  4. Navaneethan says:

    Ok thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

